Illness right before a marathon

Options
FL_Hiker
FL_Hiker Posts: 919 Member
edited December 2018 in Social Groups
Hi y’all,
I’ve been training for my marathon for several months now, I never skipped a training day even in the rain! It means so much to me to finish this thing, it will be my very first marathon. I took off training the week of Christmas to go up to the mountains, I didn’t run since I was afraid of slipping on ice or something while up there plus no trails.. and as soon as I came back home from the trip had a 103 fever and off the charts heart rate, went to the doctor and I tested positive for influenza strand A. The doctor told me not to run at all this week, and that I won’t feel better for several more days (that was yesterday night). The doctor also gave me Tamaflu, which she said should shorten the flu. Today my fever already broke and I feel MUCH better, although still weak. My marathon is January 27th. I’ve been following Hal Higdons novice 1 plan, I repeated several weeks since I had extra time, and before Christmas break I finished the 20 miler and felt easy and strong. I planned on repeating the 20 miler this week, but don’t know if that will happen (or if I even should occurring to the doctor). Should I just start back up on the 2 week taper next week? Or should I go back and do some longer milers before the race next week and forget the taper to build back some endurance since I won’t have ran for 2 weeks? This race really means a lot to me to finish, I’ve been training so hard 🙁. Would love to hear from some experienced runners if you have had this happen before and what you would do in my shoes!
Thanks for your help!
miiq9w0oj7b8.jpeg

Replies

• MobyCarp
    MobyCarp Posts: 2,927 Member
    edited January 2019
    Options
    A marathon training plan is like a battle plan; it needs to be altered in the face of reality while being executed.