Half marathon question

Options
teach0722
teach0722 Posts: 42 Member
I hope I’m in the right place. I’m training for my first half marathon in April. From my research, I’m at the point that I need to start using gels. I went on Amazon and overwhelmed by the options. Anything else to consider? I’ve never done anything like this before. Anyone have any suggestions?

Replies

• MobyCarp
    MobyCarp Posts: 2,927 Member
    Options
    First, find out if the half marathon you're running will have gels on the course. If they will, the first thing to try is the same brand that the race will give out. If that works for you, you don't need to look any further this training cycle.

Gels can be cheaper on Amazon in boxes of 24, but they won't be much cheaper for small quantities and may be more expensive. If you don't yet know what works for you or what you like, you would be better off buying small quantities at a local running store until you know what works for you. Then you can buy what works in quantity from Amazon.
  • TavistockToad
    TavistockToad Posts: 35,719 Member
    Options
    Salted caramel GU are my favourite.

You also might want to consider what you eat the night before your long run, and obviously your breakfast.

I didn't use gels for my first half, but I have for all my others and think the boost helps.
  • eleanorhawkins
    eleanorhawkins Posts: 1,657 Member
    Options
    I haven't tried gels yet, not brave enough to see whether my stomache will accept them or not as the places I run are a LONG way from bathrooms lol.
    I use jelly babies instead, they kept me happy through my first (and only so far) half. Possibly because they were a bit like the donkey and the carrot ("c'mon, run for another 15 minutes and you can have a jelly baby")
  • dewd2
    dewd2 Posts: 2,445 Member
    Options