Supplements

Options
Firstly an intro, I am 37 years old and was diagnosed PCOS when I was 16 with symptoms of elevated androgens, mild hirsutism, acne, in excess of 30 cysts on each ovary, very heavy long periods. I was never overweight but the last 5 years I have had a tendency to easily gain weight. I have 3 children. My third pregnancy was GD requiring very large amounts of insulin. I decided it was time to change my life when I tested borderline for type 2 diabetes earlier this year.

So I have been eating 1200 calories a day now for 4 months and been losing consistently around 500gms a week (a couple of stalled weeks in there) but not carefully watching my macros or exercising very consciously.

This month I have joined a gym and started doing 1 class every week and 2-3 cardio sessions. The classes I am doing are Les Mills BodyPump and CxWorx.

I have had 4 weeks of no weight loss and no (or very little) change to my measurements.

I have gotten to thinking that I have hit my plateau and it could have to do with insulin resistance. I am in my healthy weight range now but still about 6kgs above where I feel comfortable. I have been getting a lot of right sided ovary pain which is something I haven't had for years and years.

So I have decided to more carefully monitor my macros, aiming for 30%carbs, 30%fat and 40% protein. I struggle to eat that much protein!! I also just yesterday got myself some chromium and cinnamon supplements and I wonder if anyone else has seen success with supplements and if so which ones or even if not successful which ones. I hear a lot about inositol lately??

Plus I would love more cysters as friends, so please add me :)

Replies

• leachjg
    leachjg Posts: 63 Member
    Options