Is 1/2lb a week enough?

Options
I'm new to all of this and I've been figuring out my calories to see where i need to be to gain. I'm female, very petite, 5'2", 99lbs. I weightlift 3 times a week doing Deadlifts, squats, overhead press, bench press, rows, lat pulldowns, and a couple isolation exercises thrown in. I have been increasing weight as I can as well. (It's pathetic how weak I am. I started out doing dumbbell Deadlifts with 12lb weights. Last night I deadlifted 50lbs!) so I'm at least gaining some strength. Last week I gained 1/2 a pound and looks like this week I'm on track to gain at least that again. Is this enough or should I aim to gain more like a pound a week? Also, at 99lbs how much should I gain before I do a cut? 10lbs?

Replies

• 89nunu
    89nunu Posts: 1,082 Member
    Options
    Well done on the strength gains!

1/2 lb is really good. It's actually what everyone says a female should shoot for in order to keep fat gain as low as possible.

When it comes to how much to gain, it's all preferences really. See how you feel as you get along. Once you feel to uncomfortable to keep gaining start cutting or maintaining for a bit. A warning though, don't start cutting the second you think you get 'fat' cause if you have followed this group you will have noticed everyone get it all the time :D stick it out for a couple of days before you change anything...
  • HMVOL7409
    HMVOL7409 Posts: 1,588 Member
    Options
    Well done on the strength gains!

1/2 lb is really good. It's actually what everyone says a female should shoot for in order to keep fat gain as low as possible.