Struggling with Squats

Options
ravenmiss
ravenmiss Posts: 384 Member
I've been doing SL for a few months now, making small progress with the weight (I am very new to any exercise). I discovered that my form for squats was very poor, I wasn't getting really anywhere near parallel and just couldn't feel any benefit in my legs/glutes. I also noticed a lot that my upper arms hurt a LOT when holding the bar.

So to get form right I've been doing wall squats, box squats and goblet squats with a 5kg/11lb weight. I have now got my form damn good and my bf spots for me from all angles and says it's great. I can also feel the right muscles being worked.

But...get a bar on my back and I just lose it, my upper arms hurt, I lurch forward, I can't get down very far.

Any ideas what's going on?

I'm 34yo, 230lb, 5ft6.

Replies

• Llamapants86
    Llamapants86 Posts: 1,221 Member
    Options
    How heavy is the bar? Have you tried just using a broom stick or something to get the feel of a bar in your back down?
  • jstout365
    jstout365 Posts: 1,686 Member
    Options
    All the variations you are doing are comparable to the position of a front squat. When you do a back squat, you will be leaning a bit more forward and depth is reduced due to the hip angle. This is normal.

Bar placement has a big impact on depth.

Low bar :: high bar :: front squat
    squatfig2.jpg

As for the bar causing pain, you can try activating the trap muscles on the back by squeezing your shoulder blades together. This gives a cushioned "shelf" for the bar to sit on. If you can't manage that yet, look for a bar pad to provide some cushion.

You may want to try the box squats with the bar if you are not doing that yet. This will help you figure out balance and keeping the core tight while you lift back out of the hole.
  • ravenmiss
    Options
    How heavy is the bar? Have you tried just using a broom stick or something to get the feel of a bar in your back down?

It's just our 5kg baby bar.