Average speed slow?

Options
Lukejacksmum
Lukejacksmum Posts: 30 Member
I have been riding for 3 months now and although my average speed has improved from when I started I still seem to be very slow! I do have a lot of elevation where I live but other riders around here still seem to keep up their speed? Is it just down to lack of fitness, being so overweight or not putting in enough miles? Help x I am Julie Digby on strava if anyone wants to see my rides? Any advise gratefully received :) ps, I am currently 224lbs!!!

Replies

• Fit_French
    Fit_French Posts: 134 Member
    Options
    I'm curious to see if I'm slow....I don't have anyone to compare myself to but i ride at an average pace of 4:25/mile. What are some of everyone times? Feel free to add me, I need some biking friends!
  • ButterSlinky77
    Options
    Hi Julie,

I couldn't find you on Strava, so I don't know what your average speed is, but if your pace is increasing then it means that your fitness is improving and that has to be worth a pat on the back.

Average pace depends on a lot of things. Type of bike, type of tyres, tyre pressure, weight of the bike, quality of components, how well the bike is maintained and then there is the type of terrain and the fitness of the rider. There are too many variables to list...

I tend to average about 12 - 15 mph and that depends on which route I take and my mood (sometimes I just want to enjoy the ride without any agenda apart from going from A to B and back again).

When I read online about training to improve speed, the theme seems to be about quality of workout rather than quantity. For example, varying the type of ride in terms of speed, so that one ride might be a short fast ride and then another might be a slower, longer ride.

My advice at this stage, would be to ignore what times & speeds others are doing and concentrate on setting and reaching your own goals (easier said than done, I know).