When to say "no" to coaches?

chelsfelt
chelsfelt Posts: 39 Member
Hello all! I'm new to crossfit (like just finished intro classes and did first WOD today) and I'm trying to figure out when it's ok to say "no" to my coaches. They're all very motivating, but they think I can lift more than I can. I'm in decent cardio shape, but not in lifting shape in the least. I was a really good athlete in high school and I understand and know my own body very VERY well. I know when something is going to be too heavy for me to complete safely.

For instance, I was told to do 20lb kettlebells for 1 arm row backs today... 10 reps each arm x4. I knew that 15lbs would even be a challenge, and I picked that weight up instead. They keep telling me I am selling myself short by doing low weight.... but again I really know myself and I want to take it slow while I'm learning all these unfamiliar movements and building base strength.

My big problem is that I'm super competitive and I WANT to be able to do the weights, and i don't want to say no... Sooo how often do you more experienced people say "No" to your coaches? To be fair to my coaches, maybe they don't think I know myself that well? I might be lifting featherweight stuff, but I'm a small girl who hasn't lifted anything in 7 years, and I'd like to avoid getting injured.

Advice? Comments? Friend requests welcome

Replies

• kota4bye
    kota4bye Posts: 809 Member
    Pick up heavy things, move them, and put them back down.

You just started. How many women do you think they have seen "just start'? Listen to their advice. Go 20lbs...maybe you can't get all the sets unbroken....big deal, next time you'll get closer.

Its about pushing yourself, quit being a sissy and pull your skirt up.

So yeah, my advice is to listen to your coaches and quit trying to sandbag. :)
  • notyouraveragetalia
    notyouraveragetalia Posts: 223 Member