General Questions About Bulking

Options
_lyndseybrooke_
_lyndseybrooke_ Posts: 2,561 Member
Hey ladies!

STATS: I'm 5'5" and currently 126.2 lbs. My ultimate goal weight is 125 lbs. Check out my profile picture for the most recent photos of me.

WORKOUT: I'm doing Wendler's 5/3/1 and Periodization Bible assistance work 4 days per week and about one 1-1.5 hours of cardio per week. There's a more detailed workout schedule in my blog if it matters. I've been lifting for about 5 months.

My original goal, when I started at 155 lbs, was to get to 130 lbs and stop. Once I got to 130, I bumped it down to 125 because I still had some excess fat in my belly and arms. Standing up I look fine, but watching me do a squat in nothing but a sports bra and shorts isn't too pretty. Now that I'm almost at 125, which is the lowest weight I've been since I was 17, there's still some extra fat. However, I'm not sure what my next move should be. Should I continue to eat at a deficit until the "softness" is gone? I'm concerned about how skinny I'd have to get to be rid of it. Should I eat at maintenance and continue lifting in an attempt to "lose fat and gain muscle"? Or should I spend the winter months bulking (Maybe December-March) in order to really put on some muscle, and then enter a cutting cycle before swimsuit season comes around again?

My general questions about bulking are as follows:

1. When do YOU think is the right time to bulk? Do you base it on weight, body fat percentage, or just your appearance?
2. How does your body look during a bulk? Is it one of those things you just have to get used to for the sake of gaining muscle mass, or is it not as bad as I'm picturing?
3. Do you do anything different as far as your workouts when bulking versus cutting? Less cardio? More lifting? Or does everything stay the same?
4. What was your experience during/after your first bulk cycle? Any pointers, advice, warnings, etc?