Just getting started - how to improve my squat form?

Options
threnjen
threnjen Posts: 687 Member
I am just getting started and haven't even done the program yet. Last week I joined a gym to get access to the barbell equipment. I hired a trainer, specifically requesting a person who would teach me free weights and heavy lifting with the barbell. I've never had any access to this equipment before so I really wanted someone to help me learn and my trainer says she specializes in this kind of work.

She wasn't happy with my squat form, which is fine of course. I've only ever worked with dumbbells and I often hold them in front of me or at my shoulders, so it's a different weight distribution than the bar at my back. With dumbbells I can squat very low. When I tried to squat with the bar, I kept losing my balance! It was so embarrassing. I couldn't do it until she put a bench behind me and told me to squat and tap my butt, and basically I had to sit lightly every time because my balance was all off.

What are some ways that other people have transitioned to squatting with the bar, and just generally learning proper form? She wants me to squat further back but I also have the weight at my back instead of my front, so it's very disconcerting. I felt like I did a terrible job in our first session :(

Replies

• threnjen
    Options
    Well now that I posted this I read the FAQ. I see the standard recommendation is to "squat to a box". So I'll just find some good object to practice on to squat to.

I think I'm just frustrated to find that my squat is insufficient for this kind of work. It took me a long time to squat low and I hate that it's apparently been improper form :(
  • bruerin
    bruerin Posts: 124 Member
    Options