45, fat and frumpy

Options
blackburn23
blackburn23 Posts: 385 Member
I'm a newby. I am currently 45, fat and frumpy but I want to be fiesty and fabulous. I will be turning 46 on June 23 and I sooooooo want to be several pounds lighter by then. I am new to MFP (1st week) and my start weight was 207 lbs. I have tracked my foods and exercise this week and I have learned that my food selections have not been that great sometimes. So far MFP has been a major eye opener!!!

Replies

• LifeinDC
    LifeinDC Posts: 34
    Options
    I'm no fashionista but one friend of mine who also carries some extra pounds has taken to wearing great light scarves to make her casual outfits a little more fun. My other tip is to put on lipstick whenever you feel like you need to be a little more put together. I don't wear other makeup often but the right shade of lipstick really helps. If you are not sure of the color, if might be worth it to go the department store once for a better tube and then you match at the drug store for a cheaper brand (because I am a frugalista!).

Feel free to add me, I'm not new but I am trying to use the friend feature now!
  • blackburn23
    Options
    Thanks for the "feel good" fashion tips. I don't wear a lot of makeup either, but I can always use a new shade of lipstick.
  • Goingnuts2
    Goingnuts2 Posts: 160 Member
    Options
    Those were great ideas, I think I'll try the lipstick as well. I so relate to your clothes issue. My wardrobe of late has been very dark (blacks, blues, dark grays) I just took out my spring/summer clothes and actually tried on all of the pants and some shirts. I couldn't believe how they no longer fit because of my weight gain. :noway:

I ended up buying a black and tan pair of pants just so I don't look and feel so frumpy, and now have an incentive to lose the weight and get back into those clothes!!