new to pcos

Options
Knash82
Knash82 Posts: 9 Member
HI ladies, my doctor just put me on metformin, and I'll be starting with 500 mg tomorrow. Trying to overhaul my diet at the same time so that I don't experience many issues.

Can someone give me a list of carbs to avoid? if yogurt, quinoa, ok? I bought quinoa in an effort to get some more protein in my diet.

I'm not good with dieting, so anything you can list that is a no-no would be great, and what I can eat, suggestions would be very helpful!

we are currently TTC, so I'm hoping this will do the trick!

Replies

• NJGmywholewrld
    NJGmywholewrld Posts: 123 Member
    Options
    With PCOS it is advised to eliminate white carbs, such as, bread potatoes and rice. Limit your consumption of any and all sweets. I did not give it up, I just strictly limit the quantities. You definately want to increase your veggie and lean protein intake. It works....I have a 2 year old little boy as proof!!! Good luck!!! It will all be worth it!!
  • bethfartman
    bethfartman Posts: 363 Member
    Options
    I still eat quinoa and yogurt; I just try to avoid simple carbs and straight sugar. Whole wheat pasta, full grain breads, no soda, etc. My glucose levels have improved greatly since taking metformin, losing weight, and reducing my sugar intake. I still eat way too much sugar according to MFP, but it's mostly fruit, which my doctor said is ok, but you may want to check with yours if they think it's ok. If I go crazy and eat a bunch of carbs and sweets one night, my stomach definitely feels it due to the metformin. I would suggest cutting back drastically on sugar when you start metformin, it seems to mess everyone's stomachs up for a while and the sugar seems to exacerbate that, but it will go away after a couple weeks.
  • Knash82
    Knash82 Posts: 9 Member
    Options
    Thanks ladies. Can you give me a list of 'to avoids'? Ice cream, pop, chocolate bars, etc? I do much better with specifics.

Thanks!
  • bethfartman