Thinking about getting a gps watch

Options
kgprice11
kgprice11 Posts: 750 Member
I am thinking about getting a Garmin Forerunner 205 GPS watch to track my running. Is it worth getting? I am fairly new running (only been running for about 3 months now) Should I wait a few more months or not. i would greatly appreciate opinions.

Replies

• scottb81
    scottb81 Posts: 2,538 Member
    Options
    If you like to run outside I think any gps is well worth the expense. I used to run only a few measured routes because I like to keep records of distances and times to track progress. WIth the gps any route you run is instantly measured so it gives you a lot of freedom to run wherever you want and still get good data.
  • CarsonRuns
    CarsonRuns Posts: 3,039 Member
    Options
    205 is a great choice. It does everything you'll really need. I've been using one for 5 years or so.
  • scott091501
    scott091501 Posts: 1,260 Member
    Options
    Big Garmin fan here. The 205 doesn't track HR right??? I'd definitely pop for the 305 if that's the case.
  • Cgirlish
    Cgirlish Posts: 263 Member
    Options
    I just got one because I got it used for $100, ($278 new) but if you have an android phone you can also download a free app called
    endomondo which is a nice way to track your miles and pace, I used mine with a armband phone holder and still use it when i forget to recharge my watch or want to listen to my music on phone...
  • arc918
    arc918 Posts: 2,037 Member
    Options
    Costco.com now has the much more awesome 410 w/ HRM strap for $199 shipped!

I wish I hadn't spent $350 for a 610...
  • RunEloiseRun
    Options
    I use the RunKeeper app on my iphone.
    I used to use Nike+.

But i'm really looking at the Nike+ TOM TOM watch.
    But I just like gadgets and such (:
  • essjay76
    essjay76 Posts: 465 Member
    Options
    Yep, a Garmin 205 is definitely worth the cost. If you want a HRM, get the 305 - I have it and I absolutely love it!