Big Step...

Options
pammbroo
pammbroo Posts: 550 Member
I took a huge step out of my dating comfort zone last week and thought I would share. I attended a seminar in DC for work. One of the presenters was an attractive guy who I had a quick chat with before his presentation. He seemed very nice. So I jotted his email address down in my notebook. All the way home I debated...should I or shouldn't I?? Figured if it didn't go well, I'd never see him again so WTH! I went for it. So I sent a carefully worded email with equal parts of confidence, humor and charm, and asked if he would be interested in having a drink with me sometime. I actually opened a beer and drank about half to write the email! lol

Anyway, I received a very nice message back from him telling me that I had made him smile, but that he was very happily married (he didn't have a ring on -- I did check) and couldn't take me up on the drink offer.

I have never done anything like that before...EVER! So it was great for me from that standpoint, and I brought a smile to a handsome stranger's day.

All good stuff...

Replies

• SouthernSweetie74
    Options
    That's awesome! I'm sure he was very flattered. And you took a giant step. I think it's great.

I did something I don't normally do in the online dating realm... I usually wait for guys to message me, but, umm, this weekend, I had a little bit of help from the Vodka jell-o shots or possibly it was the Smirnoff... anyway, I noticed that this really sexy man had viewed me and clicked on the "wants to meet me" button. So, I sent him this message that said, "You're cute." LOL I've never done that before... not without them messaging me initially... and he responded. And we've been chatting since... that was two days ago. Do I expect anything to come out of it? Who knows? But I'm having fun texting and chatting with a hot male for the time being.
  • kerrymh
    kerrymh Posts: 912 Member
    Options
    That is awesome..