How do I find my max?

Options
I was a heavy lifter when I was in high school. I was strong too, but I stopped lifting and have lost all my strength. It has been ten years and I'm finally starting to lift again. I know that I've lost strength but I want to test my max levels, across the board, now so that as I start I can see the progress as I tend to forget where I started. Also this is the type of routine that my trainer told me to use to help me build strength and get back into lifting so I am thrilled to have found this group as I can't afford a trainer all the time.

Also I'm 5'2" I've found that sometimes my height makes it difficult for me to be taken seriously in the gym by other lifters. I'm not use to this as I was able to out leg press senior football players when I was a sophomore. Does anyone have suggestions on how to handle this? I'm still a bit sensitive about my size and capabilities as I am just starting my weight loss journey again.

Replies

• tameko2
    tameko2 Posts: 31,634 Member
    Options
    If you haven't lifted at all in 10 years I don't think it's a good idea to try and do maximal weight sets to failure your first time out the gate.

I'd go ahead and start with the recommended start weights even if they sound stupidly light. People underestimate how fast this program ramps up your weights. If you don't stall, in 12 weeks you will be squatting 225 and benching 135 for 25 reps. Those are good numbers to launch from and you'll be confident that you'll know the movements well enough to do some 1 rep max testing.

Also at that point you will have a decent sense of what a good number to try would be. I'm assuming from the way you phrased this that you don't even have a faint idea of what your 1 rep max might be and unless you have some idea of it there's really no way to test it.
  • akrepel85
    Options