Terrified Newbie here. Hi all!

Options
spicy618
spicy618 Posts: 2,117 Member
Hi ladies,

I've read NROL and Strong Lifts 5 x 5 and guess what? Everytime i go into the gym to start a strength training program, I'm so scared of free weights that I get on a cardio machine and don't get off until my hour is up. :laugh: :sad: I've reached my goal weight a few times and i'm never satisfied with what i see in the mirror. :embarassed:

Today, I read SL again... everytime i read "squat rack", "asking someone to spot me" or "pull-up", my heart starts racing and i begin to talk to myself... "start with cardio and then work your way into the weights" :laugh: Which never happens.

I'm fine with doing a class for strength training, but those usually start about an hour after I've arrived at the gym. I know, why don't i just go an hour later? If i stop at home, there will be something/someone that will cause me to put it off. :frown:

I feel so much more comfortable doing dumbells in the corner. :wink: or even the barbels with the weights already built into the bar. But stronglifts states, it must be in some sort of Rack.... that word terrifies me. Have any of you ladies started with the barbels i mentioned and no spotting? Those 2 things are what keep me from the weights.

Excuse my rambling. I'm just really wanting to find some people who were, where i am today and made it past these issues. I really want to leave the cardio for recreation and concentrate on weights, but don't want to spin my wheels and then hate weights.

Thanks in advance for your time and responses. :flowerforyou:

PS. I'm going to lunch now, so i will read any responses when i return. :flowerforyou:

Replies

• auddii
    auddii Posts: 15,357 Member
    Options