Getting a Road Bike - Costs are a concern

Options
MDLNH
MDLNH Posts: 587 Member
Greetings - I have been riding bikes on & off for several years and have recently (last 2 years) gotten very serious about it. I currently have a Trek mountain bike and it's great for when I'm riding w/ my family (we do a lot of camping) or pulling my daughter in her trailer. I'm also an avid spinner during the winter months. As I have lost weight, I am now looking to get out for longer rides and just about every person tells me that I need to "move up" to a road bike and that it will make the world of difference . . . I also believe them :-)

Costs are an issue for me and I've been overwhelmed at some of the prices I've seen at local bike shops - even for the entry level bikes. I've also checked some on-line bike suppliers, whose prices are more in-line w/ my budget, but I'm always concerned about on-line shopping and I would need to basically put the bike together myself. *Note: I have not begun to explore the world of pre-owened or used road bikes.

I live north of Boston (MA), so please feel free to share any advice, suggestions, bike-shops, on-line shops, where to go, what to do, etc.

I appreciate any informaiton that will be offered to help me "move-up" to a road bike . . .

Thank you - Mark

Replies

• Cyclink
    Cyclink Posts: 517 Member
    Options
    Buying in a store, I would expect an entry level road bike to be $750 or so (For example, the Trek 1 series). That will include the bike assembly and probably a free 90-day tune up (to account for the stretch in the cables when they are new) and probably a discount on a life-time maintenance plan. If anything goes wrong, they will warranty it for you.