Post work out nutrition

Options
ls_66
ls_66 Posts: 395 Member
I'm fairly new to running... started walking 4+ miles daily 2 years ago and slowly worked myself into running, I recently (6 months ago) finished my first 5k and also completed a 7k trail run, currently the furthest that I can run is 9 miles.
Typically I run at night 8 to 9 PM afterwards I feel pretty tired not very hungry but wanting to replenish my energy to help my body recover, any recommendations? web sites that address pre and post run nutrition ?

Replies

• alanlmarshall
    alanlmarshall Posts: 587 Member
    Options
    I like to eat a piece of fruit.
  • michelleLynette
    michelleLynette Posts: 289 Member
    Options
    Checkout Jeff Galloways website..he is an expert in this area. I run early in the morning and follow it with a bowl of oatmeal and protein powder. IF i ran that late I would drink a scoop of water with Protein power and call it a night.
  • michelleLynette
    michelleLynette Posts: 289 Member
    Options
    meant to say a scoop of Protein not water:)
  • aj445
    aj445 Posts: 183 Member
    Options
    I usually run between 8and 9 at night and finish between 9 and 1030 depending on start time and distance. I usually just have a glass of chocolate milk cause i'm never hungry right away and by the time I would be I"m sleeping lol
  • ls_66
    Options
    my problem is that by the time I hit the bed in matters of 10 minutes I'm starving !!
    I usually run between 8and 9 at night and finish between 9 and 1030 depending on start time and distance. I usually just have a glass of chocolate milk cause i'm never hungry right away and by the time I would be I"m sleeping lol
  • miracole
    miracole Posts: 492 Member
    Options
    a banana and a glass of chocolate milk usually does the trick for me. Protein, carbs, and potassium!
  • alanlmarshall
    alanlmarshall Posts: 587 Member
    Options
    http://www.askmen.com/top_10/fitness_top_ten/34b_fitness_list.html