Pregnant Runners Thread!

Options

Replies

• mltdown
    mltdown Posts: 311 Member
    Options
    I'm only 12 weeks but I'm still running my regular miles. I have a 5k every other week untill November and plan on racing unless I am unable. I am actually found that I have a harder time doing Zumba than running which has alot to do with the jumping lol
  • AsellusReborn
    AsellusReborn Posts: 1,112 Member
    Options
    After a lot of soul searching and tearing of hair, I decided to go for one last half while pregnant - I'll be running one this Sunday at 22+2. I do not expect a stellar finish - my plan is lots of walking, lots of water, and LOTS of fun. I know I can finish under the time limit and while it's funny to think of going to a race where I can't run competitively, it's a race I'd been looking forward to since November because it's the 35th anniversary of the race so it's got a really cool medal. We had initially decided not to spend the money on registration since there's no way I can come in anywhere near my PR, but a friend of mine actually booked herself for two halves this weekend with one across the country and so offered me her bib to run with. It seemed like serendipity - she wouldn't even let me give her a partial payment - so I'm going for it and going to eke every teeny bit of fun out of it. I'm nervous because I'm undertrained having decided not to do anything longer than 10K, but I know with lots of walking I'll finish it so I'm okay with that - I'm just going to enjoy being out there.
  • ajzmann
    ajzmann Posts: 147 Member
    Options
    @hbarnstein: That's awesome! I know as runners we get into that competitive spirit and it's tough for us to just slow it down. I tend to pick people in a race and then decide that they are the person for me to beat, and I couldn't do that this time. It was a different experience.

But I felt AMAZING when I was done, even though I had to slow it down.