I woosed out:(

Options
MrsAgi
MrsAgi Posts: 338 Member
I made it to the gym tonight, but I just couldn't do it:sad: I couldn't stand in the centre of the gym, with everyone watching me, and make the attempt to do squats/press-ups etc.... I've never done any gym or weight training before so it was scary enough just to walk in there - but the set up of the gym meant that however much I repeated the mantra "nobody is watching you, nobody cares what you are doing" - I couldn't bring myself to try totally new moves in front of them all.......

I DID do a workout on the machines - the one my instructor had written for me, which was all low reps/high weight, so not a total waste of time....

Soooo, for the first few weeks at least, I know I'm not going to find the guts to do the moves recommended in the book at the gym. Should I split my workout and do the body weight moves at home before heading to the gym and doing a machine workout? Or should I just do a couple of weeks on the machines while I find my feet in the gym then start the NR workouts when I feel comfortable?

Replies

• Myslissa
    Myslissa Posts: 760 Member
    Options
    I do my cardio at the gym and my lifting at home. I am on week 3 of stage 1. I am not sure I will ever be comfortable enough to do the weights in the gym. I will use the machines but the free weights i do at home.I do wish you luck and you find your bravery deep within!
  • jamkat
    jamkat Posts: 77 Member
    Options
    For my first few workouts, I went to the gym on off peak times - Saturdays and Sundays late morning and after 7:30pm during the week. Now that I'm more comfortable, I don't mind going during busier times but I actually prefer not having to race home after work to change and then rush off to the gym. So I've been sticking to the off peak times.