Counting Calories on Dukan

Options
Is anyone counting Calories while on Dukan? And if you are why? Can we really lose weight without counting calories?

Replies

• pkw58
    pkw58 Posts: 2,038 Member
    Options
    Calorie counter/logger here! You dont' have to log on Dukan, but I did just because I am an accountant and wired that way. I will say the main reason I had to log is to get ENOUGH calories. I can't tell you how many times I simply had to push to get to my minimum that my doctor recommended.

it's a personal choice. Dukan says not to bother. I bothered. It gave me the comfort/confidence to just keep eating the dukan way.
  • julieuz
    Options
    Yes - I'm counting calories and have been since starting the Dukan diet. I know it's not necessary for the diet, but I started it really as a basic tool to track what I was eating to keep myself engaged and accountable. As I've progressed in the diet (I've been on it for two months), I've realized that it's critical for me to track calories since I typically come in significantly under my daily calorie goal. I'm using the tracking therefore as a reminder that I need to eat more - even though I'm not at all hungry - just to ensure I receive sufficient nutrition.
  • fmonty
    Options
    I was a bookkeeper when I worked. So I get it. I am still thinking about it. Something about makes me feel all warm and fuzzy and safe.
  • fmonty
    Options
    Wow ladies, this is encouraging. Counting calories to make sure you eat enough is much better that counting calories to be sure and limit yourself. Thanks!
  • Road_2_success
    Road_2_success Posts: 38 Member
    Options
    I am using MFP for counting calories and try to stay under 1200 a day. . . . I notice most days i don't have more than in a day and I am told thats why i am not losing fast. . . it is a mind set i need to work on that i need to eat to lose weight and i am just not there yet. Seeing progress just would love it to be faster.
  • fmonty