I want to quit smoking.

Options
I've been smoking for about 5 years now. I'm only 22 yrs old and dont want smoking to be apart of my life anymore.. I want to quit for good! It's hard to do because a lot of people who are always around me smoke.. for instance My mother, and my best friends. I get the urges to smoke but I know it will eventually stop once I decide to stop smoking..

Is there anyone who has almost the same predicament as me?
What are you doing to quit?

*Also please friend request me if you want extra support!

Replies

• Moxie42
    Moxie42 Posts: 1,400 Member
    Options
    The first time I quit smoking (for about 3 months), EVERYONE in my daily life smoked- my fiance who I live with, almost all our friends, everyone on my pool league team (we play each week at bars which made it even harder). That time, I used the patches which helped tremendously and sometimes used an e-cig too, particularly when I'd be out at bars with friends or at pool league, so I could "smoke" without actually smoking (usually I had the ones without nicotine).

Not long after finishing the patches routine, I started cheating...I'd bum one from my fiance sometimes on weekends, decided I could smoke IF I was drinking, etc. Before I knew it I was buying packs and it went on like that for a few months. Then I did the whole on-and-off thing for another month or so. Then I got really sick, after just ONE day of smoking (after not smoking for about a week) and realized- I CAN'T smoke anymore. It's STILL hard...as much as I know how sick it would make me, I'm still tempted- that's one thing that scared me...less than 24 hours after a breathing treatment at urgent care, I was seriously considering having "just one." Really?! How insane is that?!

It's so great you want to quit and not let smoking take over your life. Most smokers are slaves to cigarettes and you have a chance to not let that be the case for you. :flowerforyou:
  • sscad
    sscad Posts: 73 Member
    Options