New to MyFitness - Any helpful suggestions? Need help!

Hi Ladies!

I am new to MyFitness and need some suggestions on what is working for you. I work most of the day at a desk and I do not have much free time for work outs or any exercise programs, so I thought this program would help me on my calorie intake. Anyway, if you have any suggestions for me I would really appreciate it! I want to lose about 18 - 19 lbs. Thanks for your time to comment.

Replies

• mockchoc
    mockchoc Posts: 6,573 Member
    Welcome to MFP! You'll love the site I'm sure. Lots of inspirational people here.

I bought a Fitbit to see how many calories I burn then deduct a percentage from it to determine how much I'll eat each day. Works well for me. It counts your steps as well so it's a great little motivation tool too. You can also track your sleep with it and flights of stairs. They aren't very expensive. I highly recommend it.
  • KristalandVi
    KristalandVi Posts: 44 Member
    Oh, there are all sorts of things you can do while sitting at a desk! If you can get away with ankle weights do small leg extensions while you're working. Tighten your abs and hold it, then your lower back. If you do a lot of work one handed, get a small (two or three pound) weight and do curls. Anything you do like that will help you burn those calories.
  • Thank you for your time and giving me your recommendation. I would really like to try that! Where can I get one and what percentage do you deduct? Any more suggestions or recipes you can think of is really appreciated! Thanks again!
  • Wow! Never thought of ankle weights! Thanks! I will give that a try! I am at the computer all day and need the use of both hands so your other suggestion will not work for me @ work, but I can try that at home while watching tv before bed. Thank you. Any more ideas, please share them with me.
  • loril13
    loril13 Posts: 320 Member