Having Doubts: Need Help

Options
I'm having doubts about eating more. I calculated my TDEE and it's 2660. 80% of that comes out to about 2160 calories--that still seems like a lot. I work out 6 days per week, and as a graduate student I'm always walking to, from, and around campus. Still, should I be eating that much? I don't know if it's the mental block that is in me because the popular rule is "eat a little exercise a lot" or what, but I could use some advice. Thanks! :smile:

Replies

• heybales
    heybales Posts: 18,842 Member
    Options
    Think now - do you actually have any perspective at all to have an informed opinion as to that sounding high or not?

Do you know how much you used to eat that got you into trouble?

Or is the full scope of experience on calories to eat the 1200 that you may have been assigned or seen talked about everywhere?

Use the Search function above, and search the forums for FitBit and BodyMedia and start reading what people burn just doing desk jobs.

6 days a week exercise and you walk around campus a lot? I'll better dollars to donuts you underestimated your activity.
  • KGTraxler
    KGTraxler Posts: 144
    Options
    You raise a good point--what credentials do I have to know how much is too much? Also, I don't think it was the amount of eating per se that got me into trouble, I think it was what I was actually eating. I've never been overweight, but I have been flabby and not toned. Also, I think part of my problem is that my mom follows the archaic view of fitness from the 80s where people eat little and workout a lot so our fitness philosophies are quite different, which sometimes causes me to question my own methods. Thanks for the perspective!
  • KarenJanine
    KarenJanine Posts: 3,497 Member
    Options
    As an example of what Heybales was referring to, I'm a fitbit user and my TDEE is around 2800 on average.