Anyone training to run a 5k?

Options
BeckyAndie
BeckyAndie Posts: 39 Member
Hi all, I'm Becky. I'm 35 and getting active for the first time in my adult life. I'm carrying around about 75 lbs. too many, but I'm working on that! I started training to run a 5k a couple of weeks ago and I find that I hate running as much as I always have. BUT, I want to be ABLE to do it.

I'm using an App called Couch-to-5K and it's a great tool for training. At this point (week 3 of 5) I'm not sure I can do it. I'm so out of shape and running is so hard. I know I sound like a whiner today, but I'm not giving up. I could use some encouragement and camaraderie this week.

My courage to try is waning. Anyone else fighting through this mental battle?

Let's cheer each other on!

Replies

• lilwalt99
    lilwalt99 Posts: 14 Member
    Options
    I too am working on training for a 5K. I'm really not a runner but I'm trying. I try to get in at least 3 sessions on the treadmill each week but I find it hard. Its really boring and I'd rather just go to the workout classes. I was a little over ambitious and I think I'm signed up for 4 5Ks by the end of April. I sense I will be walking at least part of some of those but I'm still going to try.

Do you listen to music while you run? I use the Pandora 80's Cardio station and that seems to make the time go by a little faster.
  • helenld1
    helenld1 Posts: 233 Member
    Options
    I'm running a 5K this year for Cancer Research. Did it 2 years ago and want to shave time off.

I used coach to 5K and loved it. Although I had to redo the music. Being a rock/metal girl I find I had to change my music up. FUnny how many metal tracks have the right BPM for me :laugh:

I need a kick up the bum cos my motivation had died recently. Plus the weather been a bit off for outdoors running (Snow. Not as bad as many countries have but bad enough for the UK that we lose all sense of everything!!)