Question About Sumo DLs

Options
I have been powerlifting for a hair over 2 months, and 3 weeks ago my trainer suggested I switch to sumo DLs because I'm 5'10" with 36" legs and wide hips. While deadlifting I feel great, and the change in stance has really helped me improve my numbers with good form.

However, the next day my hip joints are really stiff and sore. They feel tweaked (for lack of a better word) - kind of like when you sleep on your neck weird and it's sore the next day. By the end of the day they're feeling much improved, but it takes a couple of days of minimal activity for them to be 100% again.

I'm also doing accessory work to strengthen my adductors and abductors and I stretch my hips regularly.

So my question is, has anyone else experienced anything like this when switching to sumo? Does it get better as your body gets used to it and you get stronger? Any suggestions on how to alleviate some of the soreness?

Replies

• AlbionOakley
    AlbionOakley Posts: 169 Member
    Options
    sumo seems harder on the hips. Try strecthing more or foam rolling your IT band (outside of thigh)
  • ilovedeadlifts
    ilovedeadlifts Posts: 2,923 Member
    Options
    sumo is just hard on the hips. same with wide stance squatting.

as you build your hips up, it should go away. just focus on mobility work and lots of foam rolling.
    The majority of the time that I pull sumo, I do it in briefs because of the problems you're describing. But if you're competing raw you need to find a way to pull without the pain.
  • littlebigsteve
    littlebigsteve Posts: 75 Member
    Options