Is this for me?

Options
kurli05
kurli05 Posts: 7 Member
Hi,

I'm new to MFP and have been reading a lot about the dangers of eating too little. I've spent many frustrating (and headachy) hours reading trying to understand all of this and finally decided to ask for help. I'm sorry, I'm sure you get the same questions over and over again.

Here's a little background on me:

1) I'm a 26-year-old female, 5'2", 178lbs

2) I'm very prone to headaches and am in pain 24/7. I've had the headaches since high school and they steadily got worse until I was forced to stop everything (work/school) and move back in with my parents. Because of this I spend a lot of time laying down and resting just because it hurts to move/open my eyes/think, etc. Most of my pain comes from my neck which I found out a few months ago was misaligned. In the last few weeks I've been noticing progress with my pain levels and of course the first thing I want to do is try to lose weight.

3) I made a goal 2 weeks ago to go walking every day and have stuck to it. I can't allow myself to do any more than that because I'll trigger a bad spell that could last a week. Anything that involves moving my neck is out. I'm nervous to do weight lifting because in the past sore shoulder muscles have also triggered bad headaches. I'm determined to work up to this though, I just have to take things very slow and start very small.

4) I have done the low cal thing for a week now and haven't been happy. I did about 1350, which I've now learned is lower than the 1500 BMR that was calculated. First of all I didn't lose any weight, which I know one week is a short time, but most of all I noticed that sometimes my headache felt better after I ate something. This makes me wonder of I was making my head worse from eating too little and I REALLY don't want to risk that. Also, being hungry on top of being in pain is pretty rotten.