I'm new here...

Options
Emmea2729
Emmea2729 Posts: 100 Member
Hey,

I used to swim a lot when I was younger, and my form was spot on. I've lost that now. I also can't swim more than 2 25m lengths without having to stop for a break.

So. Why am I getting back into swimming? I'm training for a 5k race for life. Yes, I know that's running, but I have some problems with my hips and figured swimming would be a good way to give my joints a break inbetween runs, but still help to improve my fitness.

So, my main questions.
What can I do to improve my form?
Should I focus on speed, or keep it slow and steady and go for distance?
What do you eat before and after swimming?
Also, I often get stitches (and when running) in my left side, is this something to do with my breathing? If yes, do you use any "breathing strategies"?

P.S. Looking for new friends!

Replies

• ebr250
    ebr250 Posts: 199 Member
    Options
    Bump. I am new to fitness swimming and would be particularly interested in any exercises/techniques to assist with form.
  • kimpossible471
    kimpossible471 Posts: 268 Member
    Options
    There are a LOT of drills you can do to improve form - but it really depends what is "wrong" in the first place.

Swimming is really about streamline and efficiency. When face down the water should be at or just above your hairline, turning head to side (not lifting up) to breathe.

A few common drills are here: http://swimming.about.com/cs/techniquetips/a/Freestyl_Drills.htm although there are a LOT more.

I typically do fingertip drag, fist, or catchup drills. It helps get back into form when you get tired and things are getting sloppy.
  • vcollings
    vcollings Posts: 4 Member
    Options
    Hi! I'm new here too and just wanted to say hi! I swam competitively for many years when I was younger and through high school and college, and am looking to get back into it too. My suggestion would be to use kick boards and pull buoys for to work on technique and stamina.