How to adjust cals with an injury?

karaks
karaks Posts: 108 Member
Okay, so here's my story. I've been eating more (and loving it) for almost two months now. I had my RMR tested and base my daily cals on that, combined with the info from Heybales' spreadsheet and my BMF armband. I also started lifting heavy at the same time (2-3 times a week) and cut my cardio down to 2 days a week. I usually have one heavy cardio day (like Insanity) and 1 other light cardio day. While I've gained 6 lbs on the scale, I actually fit into a pair of jeans the other day that I haven't been able to wear for a little over two years. That was awesome! Lol.

Anyway, about 2 weeks ago, I started having a pain in my foot/ankle. I went to my ortho yesterday and he suspects a stress fracture. I'm having a bone scan done some time this week. Depending on where the stress fracture is, and how bad it is, best case scenario is a boot for a little while and worst case is crutches for 6-8 weeks,non-weight bearing. Either way, if it is a stress fracture, I won't be doing much cardio any time soon. I assume, though, that I'll still be able to lift, as long as I don't need surgery.

So, assuming I do have a stress fracture and will have to delete cardio for at least a little while, do I need to adjust my daily calories? Or keep them the same since I'll still (hopefully) be lifting at least 2-3 days a week?

Replies

• heybales
    heybales Posts: 18,842 Member
    So the convenience of eating the same daily goal is ease of use and consistency, really needed in a diet usually for most.

But you always have to remember it's about eating correctly for your level of activity.

So you need to adjust. You'll find when you knock the cardio out, that TDEE will likely drop a decent amount. Now, 2 days a week, maybe not that much, but always good practice.

Because at maintenance, you'll probably slip in to the more correct method of actually eating for the day's activities.