To fin or not to fin... that is the question

Options
Hi everyone!
So I have a question about using fins. I have never used them before. However, I have notice people using them alot in the pool where I swim now and have seen people posting about using then in the swimming forum What's the purpose? To help with speed or technique or both? And how do the sizes work?

Thanks!! :-)

Replies

• nerdieprofessor
    nerdieprofessor Posts: 512 Member
    Options
    Hi everyone!
    So I have a question about using fins. I have never used them before. However, I have notice people using them alot in the pool where I swim now and have seen people posting about using then in the swimming forum What's the purpose? To help with speed or technique or both? And how do the sizes work?

Thanks!! :-)

Fins can be useful for several reasons or they can be not so useful for several other reasons...

1) If you have a weak kick, fins help strengthen it.
    2) If you have trouble with your feet dragging when you swim (thus ruining your body position), fins can help you get past that.
    3) Fins are great for building leg muscles because they are so much fun to use and you will kick more.
    4) If you bend your knees too much when kicking, fins help you get a feel for how much more efficient kicking from the hip is than kicking from the knee.
    5) Fins help make the kick strong enough for folks to do butterfly who can't without them.

There are probably a dozen more uses...

On the down side...
    1) If you are training for anything that involves swimming (swim meet, triathlon, open water, etc.) or you plan to swim a lot outside of your pool workouts for other reasons (fun at the lake, whatever), you do not want to become dependent on the fins. This could be disastrous when you find yourself swimming without them.
    2) You don't want to use fins for more than one-third of your workouts (see number 1 and some subsequent items below).