Excellent idea for a group!

Options
tru2one
tru2one Posts: 298 Member
I've also found that being on a stage when I'm unhappy with my appearance is extremely detrimental to performing. Not only do I lack the confidence on stage to engage the audience as I should (I sing as part of an original singer/songwriter duo), but I find that I don't actively pursue gigs, either.

Funny, though, just getting on the right track again and knowing that I'm making positive changes helps tremendously!

Replies

• dekutree
    dekutree Posts: 65 Member
    Options
    Hey, nice to meet you! Yes, I feel the same way... I'm a freelance musician but perform(ed) my own singer-songwriter stuff with a big cabaret band I got together. I had great fun gigging (I'd play piano and sing) but as I've put on weight over the last couple of years have felt less and less confident with it, and now I've not really been gigging at all.

I'm also a music director for theatre (when I can get the work), and even that 'behind-the-scenes' roll I can struggle with confidence when down about my appearance (because it still means standing up there and teaching a cast, etc. so is still a performative role somewhat).

This is only my second week since I found the headspace to make a proper weight with my eating, but I'm already feeling more optimistic... hope to play some solo shows later this year maybe. :-)
  • lydian8
    lydian8 Posts: 39 Member
    Options