New to 5x5.. Question about calorie intake

Options
caitlynwlkr
caitlynwlkr Posts: 5 Member
I've lost over 50 pounds this past year. Before I had my daughter (and gained over 80 pounds during pregnancy) I never had to worry about fitness and nutrition, I always always slim without ever trying, so I'm still learning every day. But I've recently started with 5x5 to ease into strength training because I'm realizing it's not so much about weight anymore. I don't really count calories because I eat a mostly whole foods, clean diet and I feel like as long as you eat the right stuff and aren't obviously over eating the calorie intake isn't such a big deal and I've lost most of my weight this way without starving my body of nutrients. But now I'm worried I'm not getting ENOUGH calories to weight train and I don't know how to handle this problem. I've always been the type of person that only eats like 2 meals and MAYBE a snack a day. That's all I need to not feel hungry. And I know that's not enough to gain muscle. I still have about 10 (fat) pounds to lose but I also want to gain some muscle to have some definition. I don't want to be skinny and flabby. Should I force myself to eat more? Or does anyone know of a resource I can use to calculate exactly how much I need to eat?

Replies

• DaniH826
    DaniH826 Posts: 1,335 Member
    Options
    I can only tell you from personal experience that if you lift heavy, your body will let you know that it needs fuel! I'm often ravenous on lift days.

So if your diet is already decent and you're not worried about eating at a deficit, then my suggestion to you would be to focus on adequate lean protein intake, get to lifting, and if you want, maybe eat an extra 200 calories or so on lifting days (if you're a number cruncher -- otherwise I would just be intuitive about it as that's obviously working well for you).