Training for Open Water Swim

ShaunRKilroy
ShaunRKilroy Posts: 9 Member
Hi, I'm new to the group and new to triathalons. I run and swim a lot and have no problem with those things individually, so I've been concentrating my training on swimming. I've just been swimming laps in a pool, alternating between the standard swimming stroke (idk what it's called, but that over the shoulder standard swim stroke) and the breast stroke. My question is, is this what I should be doing to prepare for an open water swim in a triathalon? If not, what should I be doing? I have no interest in swimming apart from triathalons, so I want to target my swimming specifically to what I need for triathalons.

Thanks!

Replies

• mleech77
    mleech77 Posts: 557 Member
    I'm fairly new to Triathlons, and don't have any experience yet with OWS, but I can pass on what I've been told. Keep in mind, depending on the distance of the triathlon you're doing it might not always be an open water swim. I've done two sprint distance tris so far, and both of these were pool swims.

1) Practice bilateral breathing. You need to be able to breath on both sides just in case during your swim one side isn't really an option.

2) If there isn't a group that holds OWS practices in your area try circle swimming in your pool. Basically when you get close to the end of the lane turn around without touching the wall. Another option would be flip turns if you can do them. You want to avoid "taking a break" at the end of each length.

3) If practicing in the pool keep your eyes up, or even closed to try and avoid looking at the lane line. Occasionally pop your head out of the water to get a bearing on the end of the lane, and see how you're doing staying in a straight line without the lane line as a guide.
  • girlsrun
    girlsrun Posts: 61