So this community doesn't have too many people...

Hello! My name is Melissa and I'm 21 years young.

I made the switch from cooked vegan/sometimes carnivore, to fully LFRV Fruitarian. I come from an eating disordered past and a lifelong interest in health, so I'm sticking to this new lifestyle because for the first time since my ED, I'm able to eat without extreme anxiety and restriction, or excessive exercise. I am new to all of this so I hope I can make some friends here that can help inspire me to stay on this path and find common interests.

What first made you go raw vegan? (specifically lfrv) I'm curious how you guys first started out! Please tell me a little about your journey and why you came to find this lifestyle appealing!

Replies

• HeatherCarrRMT
    HeatherCarrRMT Posts: 5 Member
    Hello Melissa! I added you already, I'm looking for more vegan friends too! That is soooo amazing and wonderful that you have healed yourself with veganism, specifically 80/10/10! I actually posted a MFP blog about Freelee's recovery story today.

I have been following 80/10/10 for 3 months now and I love it! I have never felt better in my life. I was a strict vegetarian before going 811... but ate a lot of cheese (dairy in general) and occasionally eggs. I have lost 20 lbs since going vegan and I barely workout. I decided to go vegan because I was ignoring the horror I knew was happening in the dairy industry, and my heart just breaks for those poor animals. I also felt miserable, lethargic, couldn't loose weight for the life of me.... constant battle to keep from gaining and it was just too hard. There are sooo many good reasons to go vegan, but one of the most important for me is general health and longevity. Vegans are some of the healthiest and strongest people I've ever seen. They are inspiring!