Cooking & Recipes

Options
Hi all -

I'm loving this group - thanks again for starting it. Having a short term goal instead of always having to stare my long term goal in the face is very helpful.

Anyway...onto the topic of food and cooking. I am a chef and own a business that basically consists of me writing recipes all day, cooking them or teaching others how to cook them. Knowing your way around a set of pots and pans and how to swap ingredients for healthier alternatives can help keep you on track.

My personal outlook to this is to avoid, whenever possible, the low sugar/low fat varieties of food. These "diet" foods often contain a huge number of chemicals and salts to make them taste edible. For example, I would rather have 1/4 tbsp of unsalted butter than a whole pound of those whipped chemicals they call margarine.

So, I thought maybe this thread would be helpful for people who can't keep eating baked chicken and steamed veggies over and over again. That is a sure fire way to throw your arms in the air and quit!

My first 2 cents to offer:
Eat boneless, skinless chicken thighs, not breasts. You get 2 thighs for almost the same nutrition as the chicken breast, but the flavor is about 200 times better and the meat is moist and yummy.

Anyone else have an awesome recipe/tip to share?

-jen

Replies

• Sweettart
    Sweettart Posts: 1,331 Member
    Options
    Thanks for your tip Jen. I look forward to hearing more!
  • susmita29
    susmita29 Posts: 7 Member
    Options
    Here's a tip that has helped me a log: make a morning protein smoothie. I learned these from doing "The Shred" diet. They are filling and are good for on the go: My morning staple smoothie recipe:

3/4 cup Unsweetened Almond Silk
    1/2 banana
    4-5 large frozen whole strawberries
    1 scoop Designer Whey Choc protein powder

Blend and enjoy - this comes in at ~200 calories and fills my 20oz tumbler.
  • monkepinay
    monkepinay Posts: 15 Member
    Options