Where did you fail with the overhead press?

Options
257_Lag
257_Lag Posts: 1,249 Member
I am a newbie. I studied for a few weeks, bought my stuff in mid June (no gym access), practiced for a week and started in earnest July 1.

The dead lift and barbell row are still pretty easy. THe bench press isn't too hard yet. The squat always surprises me. I think I will struggle next session but then I get through it pretty much just like the last time. The overhead press though is soon going to get me.

I just got done 5x5 with 70 lbs and i JUST so got it done. Shaking and grunting on the last two. If it doesn't get me next time it will VERY soon.

I am curious when you just started out at what weight did you first fail the overhead press?

Replies

• kirk_clawson
    kirk_clawson Posts: 36 Member
    Options
    My first official fail on the OHP was at 85, though to be honest I was cheating (with some hip and knee bounce) at 80. I made it the second time, got through 90, then failed again at 95, made *that* the second time, and have failed twice at 100. I'm fairly certain I'll have to deload after my next attempt. And I may deload 20% because I just filmed myself, and my form is atrocious.

I'm also in a fairly significant calorie deficit, so I expect the others to start dropping soon.
  • 257_Lag
    Options
    Anyone else?
  • felipejose74
    felipejose74 Posts: 21 Member
    Options
    Failed at 75. Got some fractal plates, went down to 65 and will be at 75 for my workout tomorrow. Given how i did at 72.5, i should blow through it without any problems. I've learned that failing is really how you make your gains. Drop the weight, refine your technique and hit it stronger moving forward.
  • gwhizeh
    gwhizeh Posts: 269 Member
    Options