GRE Questions

Options
moochachip
moochachip Posts: 237 Member
Question for anyone who has taken it.

How long did you take to prepare for your GRE?

I am currently studying up on it using the ETS published book, as both programs I am interested in require taking it. I'd love to get a higher school for scholarships and whatnot.

What all did you use to prepare for the test?

Replies

• Aurora1525
    Aurora1525 Posts: 62 Member
    Options
    I took the GREs in May. I had 3 weeks to prepare since I'd heard about the program I wanted to attend 3 weeks before their May deadline.

3 weeks was a huge challenge for me. Ideally, I'd say you need about a month and a half to really absorb everything you need to know for the test and remember it! I spent most of my time cramming for the QR section because I was applying to an engineering program and considering I was an English teacher for 5 years, I figured I didn't need as much review on writing, reading comprehension and vocabulary.

I purchased two books from Amazon - Princeton Review's Cracking the GRE and GRE for Dummies. I personally didn't like the Princeton Review book, but I did like having the access to their practice tests (which were very difficult). I thought GRE for Dummies was a little more down-to-earth and explained things better.

The most helpful resources I used were ETS' own review .pdfs of each section. They were 90 pages long, but they covered everything and really gave you the best idea of what I ended up seeing on the test. Then I took their PowerPrep II tests, which were FABULOUS!

Good luck to you!
  • moochachip
    moochachip Posts: 237 Member
    Options
    Thank you for the tips. I am thinking I am going to give myself until September to absorb the information and then take the test.
  • achecubed
    achecubed Posts: 3 Member
    Options