Have you tried GLP1 medications and found it didn't work for you? We'd like to hear about your experiences, what you tried, why it didn't work and how you're doing now. Click here to tell us your story

Question on Carb intake -induction

Hi,

I'm completely new to Atkins. I have never done the diet before so I'm feeling my way around things so any help is really appreciated.

I've been reading the book and I'm starting induction phase today.

I just wanted to check, do people on induction count their carb intake? If you stick to the recommended grams of salad and vegetables a day and the recommended cheese allowance do I need to count or measure anything else?

I'm feeling quite confused, although it seems straight forward for everyone else.

One more thing - if there are any good online resources for Atkins that people go to, please do share them!

Thank you.

Replies

• MelRC117
    MelRC117 Posts: 911 Member
    I don't know the "official" way of doing it, but it couldn't hurt for you to log the first few days. Especially getting used to measure out serving sizes is good for things like dressings or when you introduce nuts/almonds. There are carbs in those and you might think you only eat 1 serving and its 3. I never stuck to induction only food when doing Atkins but you're right....the things you eat have almost no to little carbs that you will be fine if you definitely stuck to those. So no help there really, as long as you're honest with serving sizes.
  • MelRC117
    MelRC117 Posts: 911 Member
    Andplusalso...I did low carb a few years ago and had great success. Its a learning process as you learn to read labels and you get used to it. You learn what to look for on packaging and what are go to snacks, etc.
  • timwhoa
    timwhoa Posts: 325 Member