Introduction

Options
Hello! My name is Nadia and I am in my last year of PhD in Neuroscience. I live in Montreal. It would be great to add MFP friends who are also grad students so we can commiserate together :smile:

A few years ago when I was preparing for my candidacy exam (a.k.a "quals" in some circles), the weight started piling on from stress eating and lack of exercise. I was already overweight but I looked OK. Then I continued gaining more weight during a relationship that I wasn't totally happy in, as well as being depressed from losing my grandmother.

I have made some good progress but I'm only a quarter of the way to my ultimate goal weight. I am determined to succeed despite finishing up experiments and writing my thesis this year!

Replies

• tronner01
    Options
    Hi Nadia! My name is Rachel and I'm just starting my PhD in Molecular/Cell Bio. I'm hoping that I can establish a pattern of healthy eating and exercise now, before I have to deal with teaching and prelims. I was on a good path this summer, and then I started taking classes on top of lab work and got a bit overwhelmed and backslid. I particularly struggle with stress eating and making exercise a priority when I have an irregular schedule or an overwhelming amount of work. Good luck finishing up, both with your thesis and your weight loss!
  • nadia_in_mtl
    Options
    I particularly struggle with stress eating and making exercise a priority when I have an irregular schedule or an overwhelming amount of work.

That sounds exactly like my problem and how I ended up in this situation! Good planning and time organization have helped me a lot so far :smile:
  • chemicalsatire
    chemicalsatire Posts: 2 Member
    Options