Let's Just Keep It Real...

Options
Cayjominara
Cayjominara Posts: 270 Member
I am new to MFP and to weight training. Listen, I am going to be real with you. My number one goal in life right now is to be able to chin-ups and pull-ups. I am getting stronger with every training session, but I can't seem to get strong enough to do the almighty pull up! AAUUGGHHH!! What I wouldn't GIVE!!! Any tips for getting there, buds?

Replies

• Srarojas
    Srarojas Posts: 170 Member
    Options
    That is my main goal right now too! I've been working on pull ups for a month and can now do two.... I can't wait until the day I can do 10! I was training my back once per week, but I have increased it to two or three times per week. I start off with two pull ups unassisted, then do assisted pull ups with 20 - 30 lbs of assistance, then do jump pull ups. I also combine back & abs by jumping up to the up position of the pull up (chin above bar) and pull my legs up and down (like a chair).
  • MercenaryNoetic26
    MercenaryNoetic26 Posts: 2,747 Member
    Options
    Working out at home without the assist machine, just started tackling unassisted. I stayed dedicated to strength training since March. Built up back strength doing DLs rack-pulls, 3pt rows, lat pulldowns, seated rows etc as well as rest of body. So I went from one sorry attempt, to one, to now the current 3-5 rep sets of pull-ups & chins.

We have a power rack and thats what I use for pull-ups/chins. Just try every chance you get :wink:
  • Cayjominara
    Cayjominara Posts: 270 Member
    Options
    You two are just some straight up MANIACS!! Listen, I really appreciate the tips! I'm telling you, these pull-ups have had me BEAT for a while now. Thanks to your advice i am going to incorporate more back exercises into my training. The plan I'm on now does target the back muscles, but a little extra will be good. I trust you all, cuz I have SEEN your back shots. Impressive, to say the least!