First Time Commenter

Options
Hi Everyone,

This is my first time commenting on MFP, although have been logging food intake on/off for a couple of years.
I was diagnosed with PCOS (conclusively) 3 years ago at the ago of 24. I have been exhibiting PCOS symptoms since I was 15 and have been in and out of Dr's, blood tests etc since then.

When I was 17 I lost a lot of weight simply by going for a very short "stroll" in the morning a couple of times a week and eating a reasonable diet (which regularly included PASTA of an EVENING). I lost about 25kg and the weight just seemed to drop off, which was excellent.

Fast forward 10 years to the present day, I am 10kg heavier than I was before I lost the weight at age 17 and am having a very trying time of losing anything! I eat fairly well, healthily with some little adjustments needed to attain the "clean eater status" however, I do thoroughly believe that my eating habits would be considered low GI. I do not eat bread, rice or pasta more than 2-3 times monthly (this carb restriction has been the case for years now). My other main meals are composed of protein and vegetables only. I eat fruit but only in the mornings and the only processed items I consume are jam (70% fruit), cruskits and ricotta/cottage cheese (if you consider those processed). I also have been working out (as in 40-60min sessions with a personal trainer) 4-5 times a week. I have been doing this level of exercise for approx. 10 weeks. I have been concentrating on perfecting my eating habits for the last 2 weeks. The result: a fluctuating loss/gain of -1.5 - + 2 kg.

As you can imagine, this is very very frustrating and disheartening. I am attending a doctor today, hopefully to be put on some kind of medication for the PCOS, I hope this works and allows my current efforts to be reflected in some results.

Has anyone else suffered like this? Did you overcome it? How did you do so?

Replies

• CharRicho
    CharRicho Posts: 389 Member
    Options