Where dietary fat goes without insulin.

Options
Filmlotus
Filmlotus Posts: 54 Member
Hi everyone,
I'm new to low carb ketogenic dieting. I've been listening to Gary Taubes and Jeff Volek among other MDs and scientists about the effects of insulin in fat storage on the human body. This is especially true for those with insulin resistance.
Lately I have been trying bulletproof coffee, eating the fat on chicken wings, drizzling coconut oil on my food and just really curious where all this dietary fat is going in my body.
Without an insulin spike, where does the energy go exactly? Would 100% of the 1400 calories I've eaten consisting of fat be used up to maintain my body and activity, or is it possible that some of it will be stored in my fat cells, even without the presence of too much insulin? In other words, is it impossible to store dietary fat on a low to zero carb diet?

Can someone who has done some research shed some light on this?

Replies

• FIT_Goat
    FIT_Goat Posts: 4,224 Member
    Options
    This may be an interesting place to start:

http://live.smashthefat.com/why-i-didnt-get-fat/ -- HFLC
    http://live.smashthefat.com/why-i-did-get-fat/ -- LFHC

He is also currently doing it again... same calories, except this time vegan and LFHC. He seems to be gaining weight at a similar rate as the LFHC original one. His original hypothesis was that he wouldn't gain that much weight (it would be between the two other experiments). Time will tell what the final results are.

He has tons of articles on there about how much he ate and what exactly he ate. Short summary, he tried to gain weight eating HFLC, and gained much less than he should have and it seemed to be muscle mass.

Beware, it's a sample size of 1, so you're mileage may vary.
  • kiramaniac
    kiramaniac Posts: 800 Member
    Options