Reset after binge eating and restriction

Options
Hi, can you confirm whether a reset is a good idea after a very prolonged period of restricting and binge eating?

Replies

• sarahorange55
    Options
    in a word - yes

from what I know - and I am new at this - your body has forced itself into a low TDEE because of your previous diet so you need to eat your "supposed" TDEE for anywhere between 8-10wks until you gain nor lose in that time. then you can start the "cut" or deficit from that TDEE

does that help?
  • MoglieUK
    Options
    in a word - yes

from what I know - and I am new at this - your body has forced itself into a low TDEE because of your previous diet so you need to eat your "supposed" TDEE for anywhere between 8-10wks until you gain nor lose in that time. then you can start the "cut" or deficit from that TDEE

does that help?

It does, thank you Sarah... I'm very scared of eating my TDEE, but that is the ED part of me, so I just need to bite the bullet on this... I don't want to keep going on this horrible cycle of binge and restriction. I'm 45 now and have been doing this since my early 20's!
  • each_day_stronger
    each_day_stronger Posts: 192 Member
    Options
    You can do it! Eating mindfully is something of a constant journey, in which all of us slip up now and then, particularly in this diet-crazed culture! Just remember you're not alone and if it's feeling too much there is no shame in seeking professional support :)

Also, this book was really helpful for me and my emotional eating, perhaps it could be helpful for you? http://www.amazon.com/End-Emotional-Eating-Dialectical-Relationship/dp/1608821218