Home Weight Lifting Setup

Options
violet976
violet976 Posts: 310 Member
I'm completely new to weight lifting. So far my exercise routine has been very mild - a few mile uphill walk daily, some bicycling, beginner dvds. My overall goal is not to lose weight but to tone up. I'd prefer to gain weight, but as I've been very inactive the past 10 years many of my previously firm areas have turned, well, jiggly.

I'm honestly not sure where to begin, but I definitely want to incorporate weights and work out at home. My reading so far seems to point in the direction of at least a weight bench, but I'd like to get opinions to make sure I'm buying the right starting point.

I can currently do under 10 or so standard pushups with good form, not a single pull up, and have trouble with squats/lunges due to some knee pains. Would something like this be the proper starting point for me, or should I be looking for something else?
http://medford.craigslist.org/spo/4566437535.html

Ideally, my target zones are my butt and thighs, but I certainly wouldn't mind a little toning up everywhere else as well.

Replies

• katro111
    katro111 Posts: 632 Member
    Options
    Since StrongLifts is a squat-dominant program, you might want to get a squat rack and a separate bench or look into getting a power rack and a separate bench.
  • violet976
    Options
    I'm actually not doing the 5x5 program but wasn't sure where else to post this question. I'll look to see if I can find a better group to post this to.

*** MODS: I'm moving this question to a more applicable group - please feel free to delete it. Thanks ***
  • Leadfoot_Lewis
    Leadfoot_Lewis Posts: 1,623 Member
    Options
    and have trouble with squats/lunges due to some knee pains.

Why do you have knee pain - old injury, bad form, ? I would be hesitate to suggest throwing a barbell on your back if you can't even do an unweighted lunge or squat.