Possible first half training question

Options
astralweeks82
astralweeks82 Posts: 230 Member
Hello all, quick question for you. I MIGHT sign up for my first half, the Philadelphia Half Marathon taking place November 23rd (only "might" due to financial restraints, otherwise I would have already). I have been training, however, for my first 10K that's set to take place the first week of September. So, like I said I am not actually signed up for the half, and if I am able to do so it wouldn't be until maybe a month before. But the 10K is definite. I am already running 10K distances on my long runs at this point. How would you proceed with training? Would you continue onto a 1/2 training plan? Wait until after the 10K to progress? Forgive me if this is all fairly common knowledge stuff, as you can probably tell I am still fairly new to running.

Replies

• lporter229
    lporter229 Posts: 4,907 Member
    Options
    You can absolutely do this. My advice would be to find a 1/2 training plan that suits your current level of ability and back calculate the weeks from your scheduled half to see where you are. Chances are it will be a 16 or 18 week plan, so it's probably already a few weeks in, but given that you are running 6+ miles now, you should not be behind. If you are currently doing more mileage than the plan calls for at this point, I would stick with what you are doing and progress with the plan as it "catches up" to you. Hope this makes sense. Good luck and I hope you can swing it financially. It will be worth it!
  • PinkNinjaLaura
    PinkNinjaLaura Posts: 3,202 Member
    Options
    A lot of the half training programs are 12 weeks, so depending on when in November the half is you should probably start training soon. Even if you don't end up running the half, the mileage will be good for your 10K race.

I did a modified version of Hal Higdon's novice half training program, which has you running a 10K race in week 9. Yours would just be faster than that.