How often do you lose?

Options
kiknitwite
kiknitwite Posts: 36 Member
Hi! . I'm new to Keto and I started back on June 30th. It's been about 3 weeks, and I've only lost about 5 pounds. I had me TOM last week but I thought that I would drop significantly this week and nothing. Any Advice? How often should I be dropping? Does it take a while? I heard you drop quick and then stable then drop again and it continues like this. I'm worried and I feel like my time is ticking and I'm doing this but I need loss. I want to give it a good 30 days before I give up, but I REALLY like is but want to keep going. I drink ALOT of water so that's not the issue. I have ketostix and it says I'm in ketosis.

Replies

• BookishOwl
    BookishOwl Posts: 1 Member
    Options
    As a preamble, i'm just a keto user, not a expert. Others may be able to give a better answer.

I see you drink a lot of water, that's great! It's usually what beginners forget to do. How much is "a lot"?

What do your Macro's look like? What is the % deficit you are running from your maintenance levels?
    If your not sure, use this tool: http://keto-calculator.ankerl.com/

Now, in general, after the first rush (following the usual Keto Flu - did you have it?) of the body switching fuel sources to fat people have whats called PISS. Post-Induction Stall Syndrome. Water and glycogen find a new balance and this causes a stall or even weight gain, which lasts for a week or two. Relax, PISS is both normal and temporary. It lasted a little over a week for me, I ended up not looking at the scales, and when I returned my body had kicked PISS by being down 10lbs. (but Im a big guy, so dont focus on the number)

I'm not sure if you read the r/Keto FAQ page, but in case you (or someone else who hasn't and is having this same issue) it usually looks like this:

Results vary, but you will typically go through three phases