Talked to a PT this morning, I have a couple of questions

Options
logg1e
logg1e Posts: 1,208 Member
Is the bench press a compound move?

Is the bench press the only 5x5 exercise that works the chest?

Should I add other, isolated, exercises to the 5x5 routine such as those to work the chest?

Is 5 reps enough, or should I be doing 8 to 12?

I am a newbie, and 5x5 seemed perfect. I find it strikes the right balance between being easy to follow yet meaty enough to mean I'm learning a lot about terminology, good practice and nutrition. However this morning I spoke to one of the Personal Trainers at the gym and he said so much which contradicted what I thought and have read.

Replies

• randomtai
    randomtai Posts: 9,003 Member
    Options
    Stick with the program as is. The Bench Press is a compound move as it uses your biceps, triceps and core to get the weight up.
  • Llamapants86
    Llamapants86 Posts: 1,221 Member
    Options
    Please don't waste any more money on a pt that thinks bench press isn't a compound movement...
    Stick to it as written until you aren't a beginner (3-6 months of lifting and lots of research) before you start adding in accessories.
  • logg1e
    Options
    Thank you. There'll be no money exchanging hands, he said he'll happily help me by spotting me. We're meeting up next week and he's going to check my form. I'll be firm and insist that we stick to the exercises I'm interested in. We only spoke briefly but he was personable and polite.

But, I did start this thread because of the four areas in my first post that he raised questions in my mind.
  • katro111
    katro111 Posts: 632 Member
    Options
    1. Is the bench press a compound move?

2. Is the bench press the only 5x5 exercise that works the chest?

3. Should I add other, isolated, exercises to the 5x5 routine such as those to work the chest?

4. Is 5 reps enough, or should I be doing 8 to 12?