Will shin pain eventually go away?

Options
murphy612
murphy612 Posts: 734 Member
Hi! I’m new to C25k and running in general. I’ve always hated running and have never been any good at it but I still have this strange desire to do it. I’m an avid hiker/backpacker and love the way I feel after a long tough hike. I think running can do the same and it’s something I can do more often than hiking. I also see a future in trail running :-) Go me!

I think the reason I’ve hated running and why I always give up is because of the pain. Right now I’m on week 3 and the running portions are fine cardiovascular wise, no problem getting through them and my heart rate and breathing are good (so far). The pains are in my hips, lower back, calves, and shins.

I started by going to a running store and had my gait checked and shoes fitted. So far the new shoes have stopped the lower back and hip pain! Woohooo My calves are still tight but not too much pain and I’m working on stretching/foam rolling them better. So what’s left are my shins, uggg. They hurt, it’s like someone is hitting my shin bone with a hammer. I don’t think its shin splints, but I’m not sure.

The good news is I have a neutral gait, but I have a forefoot strike so I am a “toe runner”. I contribute this to years of hiking uphill. This is great news if I wanted to be a sprinter, but I run as slow as molasses, so I’m working on trying to get my heel down. Which is hard as hell by the way. I’m guessing this is contributing to my shin pain.

Anyway, my question is (bet you never thought I’d get to the point of this post, hehe) will the shin pain go away as I get stronger at running? And how can you tell the difference between shin splints and just general shin pain? If I’m given hope that the pain will go away I can mentally keep going. So any advice any experienced runners can give me would greatly be appreciated.

Replies

• MeanderingMammal
    MeanderingMammal Posts: 7,866 Member
    Options