My First Ultra 50k then marathon 6 weeks later

Options
UrbanRunner81
UrbanRunner81 Posts: 1,207 Member
I think I know what plan I want to use for my first ultra. But I am not sure what to do after to prepare for Pittsburgh Marathon 6 weeks later.
Suggestions, ideas?

Replies

• RunFarLiveHappy
    RunFarLiveHappy Posts: 805 Member
    Options
    Hopefully your ultra will be easier than mine. I know I wasn't ready five weeks later. I'll let you know if I'm ready after six weeks or not lol. Which are you racing?
  • UrbanRunner81
    Options
    JC Stone 50k
    http://www.jcstone50k.com/

it isn't trail
  • Zekela
    Zekela Posts: 634 Member
    Options
    I think you should be fine in 6 weeks. You'll have more confidence to run that marathon after our ultra :-)
  • UrbanRunner81
    Options
    I am trying to figure out what to run during those 6 weeks. Pick up the last 6 weeks of a marathon training plan or wing it? lol I am not good at winging it. I love to have a plan.
  • CodeMonkey78
    CodeMonkey78 Posts: 320 Member
    Options
    I think you should be fine in 6 weeks. You'll have more confidence to run that marathon after our ultra :-)

This ^. Your confidence going into the marathon will be a lot higher knowing that you have already conquered distances greater than 26.2. If you can increase your mileage base before then and allow a good recovery after you finish the 50k, you should be perfectly fine after a few tune up runs.
  • SonicDeathMonkey80
    SonicDeathMonkey80 Posts: 4,489 Member
    Options

+1 to the confidence part. I think the recovery is going to hinge on the difficulty of the ultra, along with time on your feet. Funny thing you will probably be up for a long run about the same time you'd want one for Pitt. Just treat the ultra as a low pressure, low stress race. The runners at those are pretty much like that anyway.

I think it will work out perfectly, and I think you'll have a blast challenging yourself :drinker:
  • SonicDeathMonkey80