New to Keto - concerned about under-eating

Options
leighsnow
leighsnow Posts: 34 Member
I am new to the ketogenic lifestyle and though I am clear on what my requirements are to reach my goal (thanks to the keto-calculator) but my question is... what if I cannot eat my required calories & fat in a day? Will this prevent or knock me out of ketosis? What kind of leverage do most people find that they can still succeed though they have gone over/under ideal macros?
Insight much appreciated!

Replies

• deansdad101
    deansdad101 Posts: 644 Member
    Options
    leighsnow wrote: »
    I am new to the ketogenic lifestyle and though I am clear on what my requirements are to reach my goal (thanks to the keto-calculator) but my question is... what if I cannot eat my required calories & fat in a day? Will this prevent or knock me out of ketosis? What kind of leverage do most people find that they can still succeed though they have gone over/under ideal macros?
    Insight much appreciated!
    LS;

Not quite sure what you mean by "leverage" but as to the rest, my question would be, what is preventing you from hitting (at least "close"), your targets?

Whatever it is, the direct answer is that probably NOBODY actually "hits" them all, every day - do your best to get as close as you can. It's not exact science to begin with, just because you set a number doesn't mean it's the "exact, right" one.

Like horseshoes and hand grenades, "close" is often good enough.

There is; however, one BIG difference between the traditional "calorie counters" and locarbers who actually are "in" and maintaining ketosis (defined as 0.5mml or greater ketone reading on blood or breath test).

While most would agree that total cals is more a "weekly" number, than a "daily" one. That is to say, if you go over your number one day, then under the next by an equivalent amount it averages out and you're good.