artificial sweeteners... opinions?

Options
astridtheviking
astridtheviking Posts: 113 Member
edited January 2015 in Social Groups
Hey guys! I’m an intern teacher this semester so that means early mornings for me! I’m a night owl, so it’s really hard for me to force myself to get up at 5:30 or 6 and be ready for school. I’ve given up coffee because I like it sweet and white, which is way too many calories for me that early in the morning, and sugar leaves me with cravings and feeling out of sorts all day. With the tough mornings, though, I’ve been needing something to give me enough energy to finish the day, since I almost always come home and want to nap. I don’t mind my coffee with a little almond milk but it’s the sugar I really need to get rid of the bitterness of it! I’ve thought about trying a stevia sweetener and don’t mind the flavor, but I’m a little hung up wondering about the effects artificial sweeteners might have on our bodies due to other added ingredients. However, my local grocery store has Sweet Leaf, which claims to add no additional ingredients.

What do you guys think of stevia? Does it invalidate an otherwise clean diet? Is it worth a try if it helps me at work?

Replies

• rendress269
    rendress269 Posts: 90 Member
    Options
    Being a huge coffee drinker myself, I've opted to limit the amount of coffee I drink since I also lime it light and sweet.
    I use 1 tsp of organic sugar and 2 Tbsp organic 1/2 & 1/2 in my first cup and then switch to 2% the rest of the day w/ 1 tsp sugar the rest of the day. I find I don't crave it as much since it's not as sweet.
    Artificial sweeteners give me a headache. I've heard mixed things about Stevie and have not tried it yet. Good luck w/ your internship. I taught elementary school for 20 years:)
  • nnishida
    nnishida Posts: 3 Member
    Options
    I discovered using soy creamer and Stevias in my coffee. Soy creamer has a lot less calories then regular creamer. Stevia adds just enough sweetness